Message Board  

Go Back Message Board > Valley Isle Timing Association at Maui Raceway Park
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2006, 07:29 AM
sharon spring
Posts: n/a
Default Season Opener Results

February 20, 2006

Maui Raceway Park
Drag Races
February 17 & 18, 2006

A sudden downpour slammed the brakes on drag racers at Maui Raceway Park’s season opener. Over 60 racers took to the track Friday night to compete for nearly $2,500 in prize money. Wailuku’s Jon Shirota won a close heat against Eric Saito of Kahului in the Summit Pro category. Both racers had reaction times in the .5 second range and ran very close to their dial-ins. Howard Martin of Kahului left the line a little too quick allowing Makawao’s Geoff Wachter to take home the trophy in the Summit Sportsman class. A red light also determined the outcome of Friday’s Pro Bikes class. Martin Hultquist of Kahului handed the win to Kula’s Dave Oka. Last year’s Summit Street champion, Nelson Nishikawa of Pukalani, started the new season where he left off with a victory against David Basco of Kihei. Import car racers mixed with their domestic counterparts in the new Sport Compact class and a pair of import racers made it to the finals. Sean Marlong of Wailuku took home top prize in his Infiniti. Jordan Imai of Lahaina was runner-up in his Civic. Over 100 Maui drag racers competed in Saturday’s program but action was shortened by persistent rain showers. Trophies were awarded in the Jr. Dragster category only. Eliminations for the following classes will resume next month on Saturday, March 18 starting at 2:00pm: Fast Gas, Super Street 10.90, Pro Gas 11.90, Pro Street 12.90, Street, Pro Bikes Saturday and Sport Compact. Racers and spectators alike will get a double dose of drag racing competition next month as the regular March race program will also be held as scheduled.



Summit Pro
Winner: Jon Shirota, Wailuku #7427, R.E.D., 8.355/156.81
Runnder Up: Eric Saito, Kahului #15, Duster, 11.476/115.63

Summit Sportsman
Winner: Geoff Wachter, Makawao #1963,’63 Chevy Truck, 10.732/123.65
Runner Up: Howard Martin, Kahului,#702, Barracuda, 9.157/149.45

Summit Street
Winner: Nelson Nishikawa, Pukalani #1321, Camaro, 12.544/109.00
Runner Up: David Basco, Paia #9, Dakota, 16.989/74.34

Pro Bikes Friday
Winner: Dave Oka, Kula #704, Buell, 10.717/122.34
Runner Up: Martin Hultquist, Kahului #111, Honda, 12.087/106.59

Sport Compact
Winner: Sean Marlong, Wailuku #0580, Infiniti, 15.218/96.14
Runner Up: Jordan Imai, Lahaina #7765, Civic, 16.249/85.73


Jr. Dragsters
Winner: Jodi Ann Tomooka, Wailuku #7635, 14 yrs, 7.880/83.45
Runner Up: Michael Wailbourn, Kihei #768, 11 yrs, 8.896/73.90

NEXT EVENT, MARCH 17 & 18, 2006!
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -10. The time now is 08:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.